Friday Night Movie Kissing

Home alone on a Friday night. I watched Cinema Paradiso on TCM. I had not seen it before.

The Graduate came on after that. I’ve seen that one countless times. The first time I saw it was in the summer of 1969 at an outdoor Camp Pendleton theater. I had read the novel the year before when I was in Vietnam.

The movie held my interest tonight, even though I didn’t expect it would. My favorite scene is when Elaine comes into Ben’s room in the middle of the night, wakes him up, and asks, “will you kiss me?” Of course, he does. That’s my all time favorite movie kiss. It fits very well with the ending of Cinema Paradiso. The movie ends with all the spliced together film footage of torrid movie kisses expurgated by the local priest.

My favorite movie love scene is when Hawkeye and Cora Munro spend the night together in the fort that is under siege by the French. The musical score to the movie is my favorite too, so that might be part of it.

Published in: on April 28, 2006 at 11:01 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2006/04/28/friday-night-movie-kissing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There is so much lowest denominator art around, that when you find quality, you have to cherish it.

  2. renegade eye,

    I agree.

    I watched A Place in the Sun last night, which I don’t think I had ever seen all the way through. There are some torrid kisses and closups of Elizabeth Taylor and Montgomery Clift in that one.


Leave a comment