Come on, Cubs. Win one for me before I die.

The Cubs clinched a playoff spot in the baseball playoffs last night. You do not need to remind me. State Street gave them up for dead last May. We must revise the way we plug the parameters into our Monte Carlo simulations. But that ain’t happening today.

The Cubs will possess the worst record amongst the teams in the playoffs. That does not bother me. St. Louis won the World Series last year and had the worst record going into the playoffs. The baseball playoffs seem like a coin flip on each game rather than an event where the best team often wins. I suppose hockey fans know the feeling.

The Cubs have not won a World Series since 1908. Golly, that seems like a long time. I have been cheering for the Cubs for 50 years and have yet to see them in a World Series. I may never. Just think of all the Cubs fans who have been born and died between 1908 and now. I wonder how they coped.

The Cubs are in the playoffs. I will not let them break my heart this time around, no matter what happens.

Published in: on September 29, 2007 at 8:47 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2007/09/29/come-on-cubs-win-one-for-me-before-i-die/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

