Fantasy baseball and chess

The MLB season ended this week. Congratulations to the Red Sox and Rockies. My fantasy baseball season ended September 30. I won the Pippin’s league, finished second in a Yahoo public league, made the MLB.com championship round with two teams, and finished in the first division both halves of the Sporting News season. Almost every morning the first thing I did after I woke up was manage my fantasy teams. I think I will limit myself to two leagues next year.

I have been playing a lot of Internet chess and studying the game the past two weeks. As I write this I feel as if I have emerged from a cave. Even though I am a rank amateur and always will be, I really forgot a lot about the game after a five year layoff. Some things, however, are coming back to me.

The mix of enjoyment, anxiety, and escape I get from playing games on the Internet probably deserves further analysis, but it is a nice day and must go out and enjoy some of it.

Published in: on October 30, 2007 at 2:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2007/10/30/fantasy-baseball-and-chess/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

