Politics 2008: can it get more dreary?

OK, I’ll admit it. The 2008 US presidential election bores me. It’s been going on for over a year for one thing and there are still many more months to go. About the only bright spot is McCain emerging as the front runner on the Republican side. The thing I like about him is that what you see is what you get. He wants to prosecute the Iraq Occupation until Hell freezes over (something to which I am adamantly opposed) and he is going to lower government spending and taxes (right, with smoke and mirrors and a pinch of delusion).

The good thing is that President Bush will be gone in a year unless he stages a military coup. By the way, he’s still running at 250 to 1 odds to win the 2008 presidential election at my sports bookie. What smart money is keeping those odds in play?

I digress.

I was talking to a wonderful friend the other day who is an ardent Republican. He started in about how he hates the Clintons. I looked him straight in the eye and said, now you know how I feel about President Bush. He said, I know, the Clintons were revenge against him for voting for Bush. I’m glad we finally settled that.

As for the Democratic side, can anybody really tell the difference between Clinton or Obama?

Published in: on February 1, 2008 at 12:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/02/01/politics-2008-can-it-get-more-dreary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

