Books are good for you

Bored, restless, pretty much brain dead from last night actually, I decide to do some laundry. I take my college abstract algebra book with me to the laundry room and flip through the later chapters. I think to myself: I used to know this stuff at least well enough to pass a test and now I know nothing at all. I feel that way about most of my knowledge base these days.

I woman comes into the laundry room and loads up her machines. She brings a book with her. I’ve seen her around the building. She’s attractive and has certainly caught my eye more than once.

She asks me what I am reading. When I tell her, her eyes glaze over. I ask her the same question. She’s reading McCarthy’s The Road. My heart beats faster. I tell her he’s one of my favorites. She asks me if I like coffee. I tell her its one of my favorite things. She asks me if I want to have coffee sometime with her and share our thoughts on the books we’ve been reading. I say yes. She gives me her number.

Reading is fun.

Published in: on February 9, 2008 at 2:21 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/02/09/books-are-good-for-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

