Tet 1968

Spring 1968. I was snug and safe in my hut just a little north of the Danang airbase. The first rocket that came in landed close by. We all scrambled to the bunker. After several peaceful months in country sleeping safe and sound, my world changed just a little. For the first time I realized somebody out there really wanted to kill me. Whoever they were, they wanted to kill me bad enough to risk their own life doing it.

Several months later, the first rocket that came in landed directly on a hut just down the road. It killed a guy and wounded everyone else. That was the first time I realized that being alive or dead had a lot to do with blind chance.

To this day I wonder who that person was who so desperately wanted to kill me. Will he wake this morning and enjoy a moment of peace and prosperity? Did he eventually become one of the nameless casualties of war?

Published in: on February 9, 2008 at 12:47 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/02/09/tet-1968/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

