Dinner Declined

A rather strange morning actually. I idly drift through Calvino, study my notes on the Riemann Hypothesis in my little green notebook devoted to mathematics, and watch the English soccer games on TV I have bet on this weekend.

The phone rings. It’s an attractive woman I met last summer. We hung out together for awhile until she had better things to do. She’s working today. She asks me to dinner tonight before she returns home to the suburbs. I tell her I have plans when I really don’t. Some other time. She says she’ll give me advance warning. Let’s face it, V will be on my mind all day and night. I would have made her dinner dull and uninteresting.

Resolving the Riemann Hypothesis seems easier than resolving my life. I’ll be spending all my time alone today. I need to be with me, a person I occasionally like.

Published in: on March 1, 2008 at 1:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/03/01/dinner-declined/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Let’s face it, dinner with you would could never be dull and uninteresting, even if you tried!

  2. Wow, thanks. Right back at you. I need a night with a book in my hand or a good TCM movie on TV. It would not have been that much fun.


Leave a Reply

