Like a god

Almost midnight. Fall, 1982. I have returned from a 22 mile run. I sit on the sofa in the living room in the dark. I am as high as I ever have been or ever will be from the run. I think of her sleeping in our bed. I want to steal a look at her from the bedroom door, but feel I will wake her as I sometimes do when I want to drink her all in.

While I think of her, she surprises me. She stands naked before me. “Come to bed and make love to me. Don’t worry about a shower. I want to taste the salt on your shoulders and chest,” she says.

We abandon ourselves to each other. She falls quickly asleep afterwards with her head nestled in my shoulder. We have been like this for six years since two books brought us together that Sunday summer afternoon. The afterglow and high I feel fractures any trivial sense I have of myself. I feel as though I am a god.

Published in: on March 10, 2008 at 12:44 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/like-a-god/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

