Two Readers

Sunday, summer 1976. I walk to the local bar with a book tucked under my arm. On some Sunday afternoons, the bar is quiet enough you can read a novel in one sitting. A woman in her mid twenties sits at a table by the window and reads a book. I have seen her before on Sundays reading there. She distracts my attention as I try to read.

She walks to the bar to order a drink. I tell the bartender to put it on my tab. Before she can walk away, I ask her what she is reading. Not long after, she sits beside me at the bar. Our books rest next to each other.

We talk about books at first. Then we talk about ourselves as we glance at each others eyes. I get my courage up. I ask her if she would go out with me the next weekend. She says yes. The fear I felt about being rejected melts away.

I concentrate on her eyes and smile until night comes and we part. Each of us go our separate ways. Little does she know I have already carried her home in my heart.

Published in: on March 10, 2008 at 10:52 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/two-readers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

