A shower

She is fresh from the shower. She sits in front of the vanity mirror and wears a bathrobe and a towel wrapped around her wet hair. We are going out for the evening. I have viewed this scene countless times. I never tire of it.

We have been together for 32 years. Why she has loved and cared for me, despite all my flaws and faults, I will never know. When we return home and are in bed I will hold her until she falls asleep in my arms. I will linger beyond sleep for awhile, drink in her fragrance, and feel the rhythm of her breathing.

Published in: on March 19, 2008 at 12:06 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/03/19/a-shower/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There’s no questioning. I’m in love. We will always be together.

  2. Good. That makes two of us.


Leave a Reply

