Jealousy, power, and love

I saw Othello last night at the Chicago Shakespeare Theater. How many of us are immune from the Green Eyed Monster and what would it drive us to do? Iago would never get to me as he did Othello seems a proposition I have little reflected upon. I am soil waiting to be sown. Will fruitful or toxic plants grow from the seeds sown? Lose sight of the question and some Iago-like person may lie in wait to execute his evil scheme. Vigilance over my emotions protects me, yet it tires me at times.

I think of a question raised by Antony and Cleopatra. Would I forfeit ruling the world to possess the love of a woman? It depends on the woman evades the question, for the question is not about the woman, but about what is inside me. I would forfeit power if I could possess V for the rest of my life. As I scan my emotions, nothing makes me doubt the prediction. No woman has ever moved me as V has.

Published in: on March 20, 2008 at 10:23 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/03/20/jealousy-power-and-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] michelemwaite wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWould I forfeit ruling the world to possess the love of a woman? It depends on the woman evades the question, for the question is not about the woman, but about what is inside me. I would forfeit power if I could possess V for the rest … […]


Leave a Reply

