Summer: it turns me upside down

I’ll admit it. These June days are the days I live for all year. The leaves are on the trees. Yes, green. I love green. The days are long. Even when I wake at four in the morning there is a hint of light east over the lake. At eight in the evening the sun lingers, regretting its demise. The weather is sultry, always portending thunderstorms or at least a hard warm rain. I get drunk on the day, not just the beer and whiskey.

On June 22, however, my mood turns slightly somber. I have entered the long descent into the dark leading to the birth of Jesus, a hideous cold dark time of year, a time people celebrate, a celebration beyond my imagination.

The only thing to celebrate on December 25 is the daylight finally getting longer. May and June will come round again. The earth will love me again, even the very universe will love me.

Published in: on June 11, 2008 at 9:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/06/11/summer-it-turns-me-upside-down/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

