Chess bum

Marcel Duchamp gave up art for chess by the time he was 32 years old and the height of his fame and fortune. Such is the addictive and obsessive nature of the game.

Now that V and I are no longer romantically involved, I am back to being a full time chess bum: games on the Internet, North Avenue chess pavilion, the bar, and against the computer software. MCO-15, Modern Chess Openings 15th edition, is the book you will most likely see me with along with my pocket chess set when I am out and about. When I am home, I analyze my games on the beautiful chess set V gave me for my birthday. Touching the pieces sends shivers of delight through my body.

I know I will never be a good chess player, but I love the game. I hope to be much better before I die. I would like to walk to the North Avenue chess pavilion on a splendid day such as today and not be afraid or embarrassed to play anybody there. But so much for dreams or myth, back to reality.

It was chess that brought V and I together. I hope she’s reading this. If your are V, come on, let’s play some chess, whether against each other or the computer. We can even tip a few while we’re at it.

Published in: on July 3, 2008 at 10:55 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/07/03/chess-bum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Of course I’m reading your blog! Sheesh, it’s what still keeps me going during the workday!

    I’m all for playing chess, though I’d prefer to play the computer with you helping me since it’s just downright depressing how badly I play against you. I don’t like the pressure. Maybe we can play sometime this weekend!

  2. V,

    Sounds good. Let’s do it. I whipped Andy’s ass big time last night. He has the disadvantage of working; I have the disadvantage of him getting me totally shitfaced.


Leave a Reply

