Hey, stupid, why didn’t you ask me out?

My latest Internet radio obsession is Big Blue Radio at audiocandy.com coming from Spokane. iTunes advertises it as, “classic rock for classic minds.” What you get though is some deep off the path cuts from Rock and the borderline where Country meets Rock. They are playing Rick Derringer wailing on “Blues All Night Long” right now and it is kicking my ass.

I saw Rick Derringer when he was with the McCoys and had hit the charts with “Hang on Sloopy” back in the Sixties when I was teenager and so was he. Back in Cedar Rapids in those days we had a ballroom called Danceland above a bowling alley. On the weekends it catered to the teen crowd. It had a small bandstand and big seriously warped dance floor. Each Saturday they had a big name act: Gary Lewis and the Playboys, Sam the Sham and the Pharoahs, Lou Christie, Jerry Lee Lewis, Booker T and M’gs, etc. When Lou Christie played, he wore skin tight leather pants. He either had one of the biggest dicks in the world or a couple of socks rolled into it.

Anyway, that was one of the two hot spots to listen to music, dance, meet girls not just from your own high school, but the other three in town. I remember one Sunday they had one of your typical sock hops of the era, hosted by a DJ live on the radio. There was a girl from my high school who I had a thing for. She had a great body, was cute enough, and had about the biggest boobs of any girl in school. I went to Junior High with her too. She was full featured at the tender age of 13.

She and her girlfriend kept hanging out around me and my best friend that Sunday afternoon. I finally worked up the nerve to ask her to dance even though I was suffering from a miserable case of flop sweat. And she danced with me. After the dance was over I thought she was just being nice to me.

A year later, about the last week of school when I was graduating from High School, she stopped me in the school hallway and asked me to sign her yearbook. She told me she had had a crush on me all the way through school and wondered why I never asked her for a date. I told her I had had a crush on her too, but never thought she would go out with me.

That happened to me several times in High School. Several of the very prettiest girls had a crush on me and I thought they would not give me the time of day.

I guess I have always been stupid, but I have discovered a few things I like over the years such as Big Blue Radio.

Published in: on July 9, 2008 at 11:47 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/hey-stupid-why-didnt-you-ask-me-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

