at the bill maher show

I saw Bill Maher at the Chicago Theater last night. He did a standup routine without an opening act or introduction. I enjoyed it from start to finish. He opened with a little criticism of the Democratic Party, but launched into praise for Obama and Clinton. Then gave a long ribald critique of McCain and Republicans in general. He skewered religion and the religious. He ended with a routine on sex.

In short, he hit most of the points I like in comedy content. I liked the sex routine best.

I went to the show with Matt, my kind and generous politically conservative friend who gave me my ticket. Naturally, there was a long stretch of the show he did not enjoy, but overall he was pleased he’d bought the tickets and saw it. I suppose it is unfair that I laughed my ass off all the way through the show and he did not, but still I am glad he enjoyed part of it.

Published in: on July 26, 2008 at 10:26 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/07/26/at-the-bill-maher-show/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

