at the internet jukebox

Let’s face it. A lot of people don’t know how to play the jukeboxes, especially if the jukeboxes are the Internet ones with over a hundred thousand tunes to download. You see these twenty something folks walk into the bar and play, ad infinitum, pretty much the same twelve contemporary popular songs that are supposed show they are cool and with it. Yet all their selections show is that they have no imaginations at all.

Sometimes, I sit at the bar and write out a play list of quirky tunes that do not respect genre or time, yet display a theme. I have an imagination; I know about pastiche. I’m lucky.

Published in: on July 29, 2008 at 3:32 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/07/29/at-the-internet-jukebox/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I refute it thus:

    I seem to remember you playing 7 or 8 Journey songs in a row at the place next to O’Calls.

    I’m still scarred.

  2. T,

    I refute it thus. If it had been me, I would have played 16 songs!!

  3. Gotta love Journey.

  4. V,

    I first got turned on to them about 1980 after I saw the Rolling Stones and Stray Cats in concert at UNI. I was pretty coked and smoked up at the time, but I still like them.

    Then I saw a Rock doumentary on them and realized that they are technically talented musicians, at least to my untrained ear.

    But I never played the whole Journey list that night at O’Callahanb’s as Hoagie would have it. I still remeber that night, for he seemed as if he would die.

    You listening, Hoagie?

  5. Oh, I’m listening.

    Just not to Journey.

  6. journy stinks


Leave a Reply

