Exchange

Still Saturday morning: I’ve drunk the coffee and smoked enough cigarettes for now, all the while reading Chekhov’s stories. The stories remind me of events this week.

This was the week for listening to people whether I cared to or not: the men telling me about their successes and hard work; the anxious, troubled, and lonely women telling me about boyfriend or husband problems, career aspirations, past glory days, or wanting to kiss, hug, or dance with me as if I were their favorite uncle. I should write the details here, but each person presents a story that needs to be told a different way than their verbatim monologues. A higher truth should supplant the bare truth of their lives.

I gave them my ears in return for their souls.

Published in: on August 16, 2008 at 10:38 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/08/16/exchange/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Ears vs soul is an interesting question. Ears is quite a bit to give.


Leave a Reply

