Appear and fade away

I finished rereading Sebald’s Vertigo yesterday and started rereading his Rings of Saturn today. It was ten years ago this summer when I first read Rings of Saturn. It had just been translated into English. I read about it in a book review that intrigued me enough to buy it. I found it a quirky and indescribable book, the sort of book I enjoy the most. I do not know why I like novels that defy the normal rules of narration, voice, and style. I suppose the unfettered and unconventional in life beguiles my emotions in ways I will never decern.

Coincidently, the first person narrator in the Rings of Saturn begins his story by mentioning a journey he took during the Dog Days when he was feeling melancholy. It further cements my affinity with Sebald’s narrator. The eclectic mix of events, observations, and details as seen through the eyes of the narrator/Sebald(?) astonish and mystify me.

All I know is that ghosts appear and fade away on this hot humid day.

Published in: on September 3, 2008 at 2:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/appear-and-fade-away/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

