Short and instantly

I did not take my computer with me to Europe. Just the iPhone. I found I could do everything I wanted to do on the iPhone. Getting wi-fi service without spending too much money was the challenging part.

And what did I do with the iPhone? Played chess, wrote blog postcards and short emails, fielded text messages, and kept abreast of the news coming out of the US. I observed people in airport terminals, hotel lobbies and lounges, train terminals and trains, and bars and restaurants. They were all on their cell phones doing one thing or another on their cell phones rather than on their laptop computers. This is the age of electronic postcards. We stay in touch or at least try. Whatever grand, lofty, or profound thoughts that may cross our minds stay hidden there, for we cannot express them on a cell phone for the world to inspect.

Typing with my thumbs will never be one of my strong suits. For instance, I have learned not to attempt even a trivial blog post such as this on the iPhone. The WordPress mobile form is not large enough to make it easy to write anything longer than a short paragraph.

Of course, with a cell phone I can instantly tell somebody, “I love you,” no matter where they might be. Then I can instantly go back to wondering if they care.

Published in: on October 3, 2008 at 6:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/short-and-instantly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

