Tempo, dreams, and reality

I sat in Tempo restaurant tonight,shortly before midnight, just around the corner from where I live. The place was mostly deserted and quiet. I ate breakfast and drank coffee. But most of all, I read a novel. Lost in it actually. It reminded me of a time when it was a place called El Ranchero back in the Nineties. I would go in there on Sunday afternoons with Euclid or Newton and study them while sipping margaritas at a corner table on the State Street side. That was after I broke up with the girlfriend I left my wife for. Those afternoons were a dream. Dreams and reality mixed back then as they do now as they have not for a long time.

Tempo was across the street from El Ranchero back then. Tempo took over El Ranchero, remodeled it, then they tore down the old Tempo building and put a parking lot there.

Tonight I read a novel for a good long spell, drank coffee, and got lost. When I pulled my head away from my book, I thought about those cold January and February days way back when–alone with Euclid and Newton–those days when wondered if I would ever fall in love again, or even cared.

Published in: on December 3, 2008 at 1:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/tempo-dreams-and-reality/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

