Someday soon

My stepfather died this past week.  I judge him a good man overall.  Anyone who took as good care of my mother as he did with mine stands tall with me.

Now that my father, mother, and stepfather are gone, and most of my aunts and uncles, I can’t help but think about my own passing, or the passing of my generation, the next generation  designated for extinction.  I am filled with this you’re-next feeling this cold snowy Sunday morning.  The great beyond awaits me.

Sunday morning grants us time to think about what is eternal and what not.  I wish our arts, sciences, and philosophies would survive us, but I fear they too will decay and fall to ruin.  The immense forces working in the world violates everything; nothing lasts forever.

Published in: on March 1, 2009 at 10:24 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2009/03/01/someday-soon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

