Destiny and evolution

Whoever they are, we have been playing a long game of chess against each other.  We are at endgame with my four pawns versus his one pawn.  My pawns stretch across the board so that his king cannot possibly defend against me promoting one of them to a queen.  His lone pawn cannot possibly bypass mine for promotion.

I tend not to think about my chess games too much these days.  They happen.  They end as wins, losses, or draws.  However, each game is a unique evolution of calculation, tactics, strategies, applications of rules of thumb, and decisions I cannot fully justify except for admitting time constraints forced a move upon me.  No matter how a game ends, it seems a strange odyssey.

These chess games feel like the evolution of my ideas and the metaphors I use to express and make sense of them.  I am often tempted to do some archaeology on my ideas and arguments, but I never arrive at a feasible endgame that does not require more decisions, thus more pressing concerns.  The present trumps the past.

Desire, fantasy, and calculation compete and create an evolution that feels as though an infinite process occurs even though all too soon the game will be over, rendering archaeology impossible.  Sometimes meaning feels like a road traveled rather than a destination.  Destiny is not a goal but a journey.

Published in: on August 1, 2009 at 10:26 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/destiny-and-evolution/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wanted to second to give you credit, yes please continue with your postings, i very enjoy them. You always can write something interesting that does not waste minutes of your life like what you find on other sites.

  2. Thanks very much for taking your time to create this very useful infos


Leave a Reply

