A thunderstorm and Russell’s A History of Western Philosophy

The sun is up on this Sunday morning, yet it is dark, for a thunderstorm is passing through.  Bertrand Russell’s A History of Western Philosophy sits beside the table.  That’s the book I’ll turn to when I finish my writing this morning.

I think I first read it when I finished college.  I didn’t learn as much as I had hoped.  I enjoyed it all the same.

Let us say the book is flawed by historical inaccuracies and personal prejudices.  Yet it has its charms: stylistically polished, witty, a brash narrative, and erudite.

I read books depending upon my mood.  Charm fits my mood these days.  Reading books for their charm makes reading a self indulgence.  However, reading is partly self indulgence, no matter what, when not done for work or some well defined goal.

But for now, a thunderstorm hovers about and I must write a little more, yet another self indulgence these days just before winter sets in.

Published in: on November 28, 2009 at 7:49 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/3898/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Just to let you know, Lynn, that you are being read as you read 🙂

  2. Orla,

    It’s always gratifying to be read by you.


Leave a Reply

