Castratos of moon-mash

You love the thunder; you love the rain.

Jackson Browne

That Jackson Browne lyric played across my mind when I woke this morning.  I love those things most I can’t possess, even now when I am an old man.  I never took much notice of desire when I was younger except for how it felt.  Now, along with the feeling, comes the contemplation of it. Desire persists until death, something I never knew.

MEN MADE OUT OF WORDS

What should we be without the sexual myth,
The human revery or poem of death?

Castratos of moon-mash–Life consists
Of propositions about life. The human

Revery is a solitude in which
We compose these propositions, torn by dreams,

By the terrible incantations of defeats
And by the fear that defeats and dreams are one.

The whole race is a poet that writes down
The eccentric propositions of its fate.

Wallace Stevens

Published in: on November 30, 2009 at 12:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/30/castratos-of-moon-mash/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

