Hockey and football

The Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup last night.  They had not won that since 1961.  The obligatory celebration went on all night long.  I made the wise choice of watching the game at home even if I didn’t get a lot of sleep because of the ruckus out of doors.

However, the World Cup starts tomorrow.  I’ll be watching the Mexico vs. S. Africa match tomorrow morning.  Spain, Brazil, and England are the betting favorites.  I’m going to cheer for USA and Mexico for as long as they last.  They have to at least get into the knockout round.  Don’t they?

Plenty of good football coming up.

Published in: on June 10, 2010 at 7:00 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2010/06/10/hockey-and-football/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yeah, great football coming up! Spain is frightening, but I would also count on Argentina. Brazil is like an old-boys team, but…! England is going to disappoint, don’t they always? I guess I’ll cheer for Denmark, but how they suck! Even without Ballack, Germany is strong and effective. And of course there is Holland: wow! Then there’s the outsider who could be an African team, even Asian. Or Italy which will sneak up on everybody during the tournament and then suddenly be in the finale.

    The U.S? Well, they are certainly fast and furious and can easily beat England, I think. It’s going to be great fun.

    Lynn, you’re a betting man. Quick, who wins the cup?

  2. As a betting man, I’ll go with Spain. Their whole lineup consists of world class stars.

  3. Agree – and their play is pure aesthetics. Xavi and Inesta have the highest football IQ around.

    Beauty over power. What a sweet victory that will be.

    Who will they play in the finale?

  4. I’ll go with Brazil. My semifinal picks are Spain over Argentina and Brazil over England.

  5. You are a courageous man 🙂

    And boy, do I look forward to the semi with Spain and Argentina!

    My wife and I will be in the U.S. in July in your time-zone. I guess I’ll have to get up early in the morning then. Which channel shows the World Cup? ESPN?

  6. ESPN is showing all the games. It looks like there will be games around 8AM and 2PM Chicago time most days. Breakfast with the World Cup on TV. Love it.


Leave a Reply

