Entertainment

I’m reading more than one book per day.  I don’t consider that a major accomplishment: for one, who cares, and two, I would bet it is taking me less time to do it than the average American spends watching TV everyday.

Yesterday’s book was Memory Wall, Anthony Doerr’s fine new collection of short stories.  Today’s book is Hitch-22, C. Hitchens’s new memoir.

Tomorrow, I don’t know.  I’ll figure it out after Hitch has entertained me.

Published in: on August 3, 2010 at 11:21 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/entertainment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, that’s impressive. I read a lot but not that much…

  2. Lynn, after you have finished Hitch-22 you might want to read his latest piece about existence after cancer has recently invaded his life. It is as always poignant and eloquent.

    http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2010/09/hitchens-201009

    I have always enjoyed his writing – don’t you think he is today’s Jonathan Swift, Dr Johnson or maybe Oscar Wilde, though without the elegant decadence and quick wit of the latter.

  3. Daniel & Orla,

    I didn’t finish Hitch-22 yesterday. My streak is broken.

    Thanks for the link. I’d say he fits somewhere with the three you mentioned, Orla.


Leave a Reply

