Swirl

OK, I’ll admit it. I’m coming out of a deep and profound two year plus depression. The kind that leaves you paralyzed most days, or even remorseful.

But I’m coming out of it now. Even the snow swirling about my window this morning looked kind of pretty.

My recurrent depressions are a two sided thing: me feeling it and me watching the whole mother fucking thing, detached, as if it didn’t have anything to do with me at all.

I’m pretty sure I’ll be contented for awhile, smug actually. Then the descent will come totally unbidden.

Published in: on December 2, 2010 at 2:35 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2010/12/02/swirl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good to have you back in full “swirl”, Lynn.

    Yes, depression is a frightening illness, although you seem to have the mild version when you can detach yourself from it.

    Several years ago I lived with a lovely woman with a truly devastating depression (including numerous suicide attempts) and being such a close observer I was terrified at the sheer power of the affliction.

    You know, of course, about the writers who have tried to describe the indescribable.

    But what happened to your post on Alexander Pope’s rendition of Homer? That was good, especially the point about translation as creation.

    • Oral,

      Sorry to hear about your friend. Depression is such an insidious disease.

      I don’t know what happened to that post. I still have not mastered WordPress on the iPad.


Leave a Reply

