The Pope on Homer and Virgil

In the preface of his translation of Homer’s Iliad, Pope mentions that Virgil is not Homer’s equal.

I, in all my temerity, wonder.

Published in: on December 6, 2010 at 11:29 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://statestreet.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/the-pope-on-homer-and-virgil/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Lynn,

    You are indeed a true Renaissance man: so classically well read that I know only a few to match you 🙂

    But we are all also singing Kris Kristofferson’s 1970 song “Help Me Make It Through the Night” – if our bed is lonely.

    Kristofferson has said that he got the inspiration for the song from an Esquire magazine interview with Frank Sinatra. When asked what he believed in, Frank replied, “Booze, broads, or a Bible…whatever helps me make it through the night.”

    You would always prefer the broad, wouldn’t you?

    But when you wake up, who would you rather spend time with: the broad or Homer or Pope?

  2. Orla –

    As you well know, if you live long enough and read a fair portion of it, you will be well read. That has been one my great fortunes.

    I had no idea about the Kris/Frank connection on that song. That reminds me, the new Frank Sinatra biography has gotten good reviews–good enough that I’m sure I will read it soon.

    Through the night the broad, but in the morning I need a cigarette, coffee, and something good to read in that order.


Leave a Reply

